Komodo National Park

Komodo National Park is located at western side of the Flores Island. The National Park was established in 1980. It is then declared as a Man and Biosphere Reserve in 1986 and as World Heritage Site in 1991 by UNESCO. Komodo National Park consists of Komodo island and Rinca island and other uninhabited islands: Padar, Gili Motang, Nusa Kode and other 24 small islands. Komodo National Park biodiversity is include 385 species of coral reefs, 1,000 species of coral fishes, 70 species of sponges,  6 species of whales, 10 species of dolphins, 3 species of sea turtles, manta-rays, 32 species of mammals, 128 species of birds and 37 species of reptiles.

Komodo National Park – How to get there

Komodo island and Rinca island and other small islands around can be access from Labuan Bajo (western Flores island) and from Bima (east side of Sumbawa island).  Both cities has a direct flight access from Bali.

From Labuan Bajo, there’s a lot tour package from tour guides or tour service from hotels to visit Komodo islands. And also there are lots of fishing boat that can be chartered from local fisherman, start from Rp 2,000,000/round trip with approx. 4 hours/trip . The average fishing boat capacity is 10 people/boat. Other choice is using speedboat which is faster (approx. 1.5 hr/trip) but more expensive, around Rp 4 million (updated info: mid 2011).

Categories: Komodo National Park | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

%d bloggers like this: